Lucky? More like fortunate.

I think I’m lucky. I have a great husband (seriously, don’t tell him that), my kids are awesome and we have jobs, a house, cars and all the stuff that comes with it. We work our butts off.

I’ve been feeling kind of sentimental lately. I don’t know what it is, but something in me has made me reflect on the past 13 years. Maybe it’s my oldest becoming a teenager and having to think about my life when she was born.

I didn’t always used to be so lucky. Don’t get me wrong. It’s just at that point, I didn’t see it as lucky. You see, I found out at the ripe-old age of 19 that I was going to be a mother. I was a thousand miles away from my family (Florida) and I ended up coming home to a horrible situation that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. With the help of my parents and other members of my family, I came out on top.

I was a single mother for 6 years. In those 6 years, I completed my collegiate softball career, graduated from college, got my Master’s degree and raised a pretty unbelievable little girl. I probably did other stuff, but I can’t remember stuff like that.

I met my husband when my oldest was 6. They were buds at first sight. I didn’t realize what she was missing out on until the two of them formed that father-daughter bond. They are very alike. Stubborn, loving, difficult, good-hearted. So alike that they sometimes can’t see eye to eye at times. It’s getting better. She’s a teenager.

I look at the twins and realize that I am so fortunate to have found my husband. He is an amazing dad. I think that luck has nothing to do with it, because I know I’ve had enough “bad luck” to last me a long time. Who needs a 4 leaf clover? Not me, I’ve got my family.

Leave a comment